Shopping through the fear

My company has started a round of layoffs.  Three weeks ago, it was admissions reps.  Last week, it was the full-time instructors that aren’t chairs.  Friday, they sent a request for updated data sheets to review the staffing in the library.  I’m afraid I’m next, though my Inner Rational Adult reminds me that a person with my degree is required for accreditation, and the other person in here doesn’t have one.  My corporate overlords don’t always act in a rational manner however.

So, what do I do when faced with heart-pounding stress and money worries? What is the only reasonable response?  Go shopping!  It’s like the last days of the Roman Empire, or the end of the Roaring 20’s.  If you think it’s all going to come crashing down, there is this unavoidable need (in my head, at least) to live it up while the living’s good.  I got two new sparkly shirts, and my husband got three new sport coats (which will come in handy if he needs to start looking for a Regular Joe job), we stocked the fridge and pantry, and Christmas plans continue apace.

My company’s a mess.  I know I’m on the Titanic, and there’s an iceberg ahead–maybe not this round, but sometime soon.  Pour the champagne, boys, and play me a jig!  Let’s tear the roof off the sucker!

P.S. As a coda, we did just inherit a mortgage-free house, and have been putting all his holiday gig money into savings.  So, lifeboats are prepared, should worse come to worst.

Leave a Reply

