Reading actual books!

I have been making a conscious effort lately to carve out time to read books.  Actual books.  Remember those?  There used to be few things I loved more than a free afternoon and a good book.  I could sit in one spot for hours and live in whatever mind-world the author built for me.  I am not sure when that started to feel like an expendable luxury, but dang it, I’m putting down my phone and engaging with long-form writing this summer.  A girl cannot live on Tweets alone.

I spent a week with Jen Lancaster, reading Twisted Sisters, which was a fun romp through a super-dysfunctional family with a little magical realism thrown in, and a mostly happy ending. I have followed it up with We’re All Damaged by Matthew Norman, which takes that theme and turns it up to 11.  I’m engaged in the story, though I am happy I don’t know any of these people. They all live up to the title.  I still have The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith on my Kindle for some future read, too.  And as soon as I pay my 60-cent fine to the York County Public Library (I know, a librarian who owes library fines: it’s a disgrace), I plan to put a hold on Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson.  I follow her blog, so I feel like I know her, and I really look forward to reading that book before her next one comes out.

So what are you reading now?  What should I add to my bedside table to read next?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

